He said if Uma gets one, he gets one too.

Monday, June 30, 2008

Did he or didn't he?

I put The Boy down on the bed in Uma's room to help her with something. I clearly remember putting him on his back, because I turned on the ceiling fan to give him something to look at. Then I had to leave the room briefly. When I came back, he was on his belly. Was it magic?


I miss my big sister


I think she went that way.

Asymmetric ears


Have you noticed them before?

Sunday, June 29, 2008

Help, I'm trapped!


Saturday, June 28, 2008

He takes things lying down



He doesn't have a choice, really.

Getting the keys


Sorry, kid; you drive at 16 years, not 16 weeks.


I guess he'll eat them instead.

Friday, June 27, 2008

Kieran talks to his play gym



Thursday, June 26, 2008

Head up display


Wednesday, June 25, 2008

Going to Whole Foods


How a baby enjoys the playground.


Poor boy is missing all the samples.


You'd better make that up to me.

Tuesday, June 24, 2008

Kieran and Aaji enjoy some quality time



Monday, June 23, 2008

The Visionary


Practicing his profound, gazing-off-into-the-distance look.

Standing short


Sunday, June 22, 2008

At least he's in the shade...


Saturday, June 21, 2008

Grandma makes Kieran laugh


Update: Now with sound!


Friday, June 20, 2008

Spiky do




My cousin has noticed that every Hindi film has to have a scene where someone encounters someone else unexpectedly, and dramatically says, "You!" In Hindi, that sounds more like "Thoom."



Thursday, June 19, 2008

My first stuffed animal


I think I will call it "Aawa." Or "Gaa."


I wonder what it tastes like.

Wednesday, June 18, 2008

Whoa, that light is bright....


Tuesday, June 17, 2008

All cleaned up


The nice boy in the mirror


Bath boy



Monday, June 16, 2008

These weren't here before...


Better keep an eye on them. They look shifty.

Messily good-looking


He cleans up real good, too. Oh, wait... for him, this is cleaned up.

Sunday, June 15, 2008



Saturday, June 14, 2008


Kieran loves looking at himself in the mirror. I'll stand him up about a foot away from a big mirror, and he'll just start smiling and giggling, once he finds himself, of course. He hasn't been around many other babies, so I don't know if it's just that babies crack him up or what.




No doubt he was telling us something very important.

Friday, June 13, 2008

A confused boy


Thursday, June 12, 2008

Moved and shaken


Munch munch munch


Wednesday, June 11, 2008

A picture of peace


He likes sleeping in our bed more than he likes sleeping in his own.

Tuesday, June 10, 2008

If it's flat...


... it's a bed. No matter what we think it should be for.

Monday, June 9, 2008

Extend and contract



Is she still there?


She is, isn't she?

Sunday, June 8, 2008

Asleep on Ajoba



Saturday, June 7, 2008

Self-defense position


Having a big sister means being vulnerable, even in when sleeping.

Friday, June 6, 2008

Fists of mildness


Big belly boy


Still waking up


Not quite awake yet


Thursday, June 5, 2008

Two-odd foot of grunt

I got out the tape measure last night. It looks like Kieran's a little over 24" long/tall now. That's just under 2 inches of growth in the last 5 weeks.


This new stroller is weird


Wednesday, June 4, 2008

Reach out and touch

Kieran is figuring out that those are his hands. He's starting to grab at things, but mostly he just likes putting up his dukes. He holds one fist out and the other closer to his chest, though sometimes they're both out. I've got a picture you'll see soon.

He continues to be nice to us, sleeping almost all nights from around 11:30pm until 9am the next morning. He's also pretty mellow, even when he's tired. It takes almost nothing to make him smile, and a few seconds of knee-bouncing will usually win me a squawking laugh.

Another thing that often gets a laugh is the play gym. The boy loves his play gym, even without the music and flashing lights on. Ceiling fans, too, but the slowest speed is still too fast*, so it's only when I spin it by hand.

What else is going on with him? He's so far survived the not-so-tender affections of his big sister. Some of her "enthusiasms" make me cringe, but sometimes he likes them, like getting smacked on the cheeks. I guess he should get used to it; he's stuck with her.

I'm pretty sure he's taller. I haven't measured. He'd grown a negligible amount over his first 2 months, but I think he's added a couple of inches since then. He's still got some chubby chubby legs, and of course one chin just isn't enough.

Oh yeah. He hit 3 months last week. I remember with Uma I commemorated every minor milestone on the calendar. Second children get neglected. Kid ought to be greatful he even has a blog. Yeah.

* There should be an "baby fun" speed on all ceiling fans


Sleeping on the go


Tuesday, June 3, 2008





A little help here...

A flying elephant? Amazing!




I hope...

Monday, June 2, 2008

Kieran swings, too


Again with the camera? Geez.


Ooooh.... flying bears.


I wonder how they stay up...


Ok, I've had enough.